Finn’s stellar space-themed party

Other than the twenty juice boxes I forgot to take out of the freezer and the fact that I wish I’d posted photos sooner, I can’t think of much else I’d want to change about Finn’s 4th birthday party. It was, I have to say, a blast.

Finn had a spectacular space banner hanging in his honor (thanks to a few of my very talented students who helped me out after school)…

…posters of himself in space on display…

…and inflatable planets hanging from the patio:

IMG_3215

The rockets they’re holding are actually homemade contraptions my husband made by wrapping sticky foam paper around old film canisters, which, with assistance, were opened, inserted with pieces of alka-seltzer tablets and small quantities of water, and “launched” into the air after the kids decorated them with markers. I didn’t get photos of the launches, but this was a MAJOR hit. They just couldn’t get enough of it… especially the boy that came dressed in an adorable astronaut suit.

For those who just didn’t happen to have their own space suits at home, we took old-school polaroid shots of them as astronauts and gave them out as one of their party favors (along with space stickers and a copy of a National Geographic PLANETS reader).

Then the kids experimented with gravity inside of a bounce house and an inflatable slide, and a few romped around with a giant Earth ball:

Finn had an amazing time playing with his school friends, family friends, and relatives, slowing down only momentarily to snack on peanut-butter and jelly rocket-ship sandwiches, macaroni-and-cheese meteors, pesto puff pastry spiral galaxies, and vegan rice-crispy stars and moons. The only time he wasn’t socializing was when he was focused on something else: the cake.

I should say CAKES, to be more exact. Thanks to my sister Ilianna and her fiance Brian (who also did Finn’s 2nd birthday cake), there were NINE (yes, nine) of them: a delicious Sun and eight gorgeous planets:

We polished off the Sun and Jupiter pretty quickly, and clearly, they were a hit:

But, later, when I asked Finn what his favorite thing was, he said, “the Earth.” I assumed he was speaking of this…

No matter how we look at, though, I think it’s safe to say that it was a good day for Finn on Planet Earth.

3 thoughts on “Finn’s stellar space-themed party

  1. What a terrific, creative event. I had a “BLAST’.
    LOVE YOU TO THE MOON !!!!!!!!

    Gram……..

  2. Looks like so much fun! I love the cakes and the space theme. Happy birthday Finn! It has been so much fun watching you grow up, even from a distance.

  3. It truly was out of this world (those cakes!): Wesley had an incredible time (as did I, even with my dumb headache). Thanks again so much for letting us be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

